Sapta Dhatu

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Sapta dhatu are in Ayurveda the seven fundamental principles or elements that support the basic structure and functioning of the body. They consist of:

  • Rasa dhatu (Plasma and Lymph)
  • Rakta dhatu (Blood)
  • Mamsa dhatu (Muscles)
  • Medha dhatu (Fat)
  • Asthi dhatu (Bone)
  • Majja dhatu (Bone marrow)
  • Shukra dhatu (Semen)

The most unique feature of Ayurvedic histology (concept of tissue formation) is that each tissue is formed from the previous tissue in ascending order of complexity. Thus when food is ingested it is digested until, in the small intestines, it becomes a liquid chyme-like material known in Ayurveda as ahara rasa, or food essence. With the help of agni, the digestive fire, this ahara rasa is converted into the firs tissue Rasa dhatu (blood plasma) and then, as each dhatu has its own agni, the next dhatu is formed in sequence.

Read 7294 times Last modified on Thursday, 09 February 2017 09:25

WarpTheme offer free high quality Joomla! Templates and WordPress Themes for you to create beautiful websites

More in this category: « Tri Guna Tri Mala »
Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok Decline