• Music and Dance
  • Prabhat Samgiita

Prabhat Samgiita

Prabháta Saḿgiita, also known as Songs of a New Dawn or Prabhat's Songs, are a collection of songs composed by Prabhat Ranjan Sarkar. He composed a total of 5,018 songs, lyrics and melody, over a period of eight years from 1982 until his death in 1990. Most songs are in Bengali, while some others are in Hindi, English, Sanskrit, Urdu, Aithili and Angika. The poetry of lyrics expresses elements of love, mysticism, devotion, neo-humanism and revolution. This collection is also named “Songs of a New Dawn” or “Songs of Prabhat”. Sarkar created the Ananda Marga organization in 1955 and founded, in 1973, Ananda Marga Publications, to translate and distribute his work and philosophy. Another Ananda Marga-affiliated group, the Renaissance Artists and Writers Association (RAWA), has sponsored several performances and recordings of selected songs.

Read 3685 times
Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok Decline